Adventures in Oil Painting

Last year I decided I wanted to try painting with oils. I did enjoy the fact that I didn’t have to worry about the paint drying on my brushes like acrylic, and that I had plenty of time to correct mistakes. Here are some paintings I completed. They are all on mdf board.

My Dog
Three Apples
Pink Rose and Blue Blossoms
Mirror Lake
Two Pears

Although I did enjoy painting with oils, I did find them difficult to use as times. Since I have a small workspace and a pet, I don’t want to use harsh solvents. This prevented me from creating thin, quick drying layers. I found it hard to not muddy up colors, and it took a few weeks to complete a painting. I also disliked how difficult cleanup can be.

I considered trying water mixable oil paint, but found them to be a bit too expensive for my budget. So I decided to order a set of my first artist grade acrylic paints. I found them at an affordable price, and am really excited to try them out! I am hoping they will work better than my usual student grade acrylics.

Leave a comment